If you like our site, please consider joining our club!
By joining you will help ensure that we can continue to provide this service
JOIN HERE!

r90s Running Rich

schrader7032

r90s Running Rich

Post by schrader7032 »

Stan -

I have no experience with the Dell'Orto carbs on the R90S...others might be able to give you some hints or suggestions. If you want to read some and follow additional links on these carbs, check out this website.

http://bmwmotorcycletech.info/dell.htm

There are some R90S specific forums...you might want to consider getting involved in several forums in order to tap into a range of experience. I'm aware of this forum, but there probably are others...

http://www.bikersoracle.com/rs/forum

Kurt in S.A.
Kurt in S.A.
'78 R100/7 '69 R69S '52 R25/2
Fast. Neat. Average. Friendly. Good. Good.

stanleyandreina

More info

Post by stanleyandreina »

Hi again-
The bike is a 1967 r69s, with a newer engine- I think it's a 1974 r90s. It also has a sidecar. I drove it up from Boston on a very hot day (90 degrees), and got stuck in traffic for an hour on my very first ride.
I wonder: Should I be looking at the choke, the carburator, or the timing to lean out the mix?
-Stan
stanley w. ellis

schrader7032

Re: More info

Post by schrader7032 »

Should I be looking at the choke, the carburator, or the timing to lean out the mix?

Yes! Well, I'm not too sure about adjusting the timing to lean out the mixture...seems like putting a bandaid on the problem. Most likely it is the carb. Could be the choke is stuck on. Could be the slide mechanism doesn't slide. Could be the accelerator pumps (I think these have pumps) are overactive. Could be the jets/needles inside the carb have broken or are oversized.

You got stuck in traffic...how did you get unstuck? At 18 mpg, your spark plugs must be covered in black, wet soot.

I think if you're smelling gas, my guess you'll need to look closely at the carbs, possibly tear into them and see what's wrong.