If you like our site, please consider joining our club!
By joining you will help ensure that we can continue to provide this service
JOIN HERE!

Newbie with a broad question.

Kneedrager

Newbie with a broad question.

Post by Kneedrager »

My name is Scott and I'm new to the forum. The user name is from my former life as a Superbike racer. I've been wrenching on old BMW cars (mainly E30's) for a few years and decided to look into getting an older BMW motorcycle. I've found a 1974 R90/6 for sale that the oil plug was never tightened, vibrated out and seized as a result of a "NO" oil condition.
The Owner says he pulled the cylinders and can not get the connecting rods to move (not too much of a surprise there). Not being familiar with these motors I am wondering what else could have been affected by no oil. I realize that everything could have been affected, but am trying to figure out what I may be getting myself into. Crank, bearings, valves...? Is this a toss the motor and start again situation?
Any and all help is much appreciated.

iagins

If he was able to pull the

Post by iagins »

If he was able to pull the cylinders off, there's hope for the top end. But it sounds like the bottom end is toasty.

It depends what you want to do. If you like wrenching and the satisfaction in resurrecting the bike, it may be for you.

If you're more interested in riding it, there are currently four R90/6's for sale on the IBMWR Marketplace, ranging in price from $2500 to $5500.

Ira Agins
Santa Fe, NM

Kneedrager

Thanks for the reply. For me

Post by Kneedrager »

Thanks for the reply. For me (as weird as it sounds) wrenching is half the fun. Bringing something that doesn't run back to life offers a certain, definite satisfaction. Sometimes I get to the end of my workday and look back and wonder "what did I actually accomplish today?" When you're wrenching, you can see (and hopefully eventually ride / drive) the fruits of your labor

2valve

hi Kneedrager

Post by 2valve »