If you like our site, please consider joining our club!
By joining you will help ensure that we can continue to provide this service
JOIN HERE!

Clutch replacement difficulty level

The place to discuss the R 90 S as well as the R90S Worldnet archives!
JakeF

Clutch replacement difficulty level

Post by JakeF »

I finally got my non-op R90S running and road worthy. Took it out for its first real ride yesterday and I think the clutch may need work. When accelerating I can feel it slipping before it grabs fully. I am a lowly novice to bike mechanics and am learning as I go. On a scale of 1-10 with one being not knowing a Phillips from a regular screwdriver, to a 10 being a BMW certified mechanic, where does working on a clutch rate?
JakeF
1956 R69, 1976 R90S, 2008 R1200GS

schrader7032

I'd say the difficulty is

Post by schrader7032 »

I'd say the difficulty is 6-7. It's a bit of a puzzle as you have to remove a whole bunch of stuff to get to removing the transmission. On the one hand, it's a lot of big pieces that have to come out. On the other hand, you'll need a few special tools like a socket remove the swingarm pins...you'll need a ft-lb and an in-lb torque wrench. You also need a set of nuts/bolts to let the pressure down on the clutch plate, but that can be bought at any hardware store. Centering the clutch pack on the flywheel can be tricky...they sell a clutch alignment tool for that, but I've managed to do it by eye.

It can be done but you should take your time.
Kurt in S.A.
'78 R100/7 '69 R69S '52 R25/2
Fast. Neat. Average. Friendly. Good. Good.

khittner

It depends on whether you

Post by khittner »

It depends on whether you prefer to futz around, or have your bike work well soon. If I still owned a nice 90S that needed a clutch, and lived within a comfortable day's drive of Ted Porter's shop like you do, I'd take my bike there, pay the master, begin a warm customer relationship, listen, and learn.
Konrad

Twocams

Jake, I think its about time