If you like our site, please consider joining our club!
By joining you will help ensure that we can continue to provide this service
JOIN HERE!

Charging light on constantly - what to check first?

wheeler7664

Charging light on constantly - what to check first?

Post by wheeler7664 »

The bike is a 64 R27.

While completing the fall 2010 Motogiro USA, the bike developed three problems, for each of which I may seek help here to diagnose.

The first of these is that the red charging light started to be illuminated all the time, no matter the rpm.
The red light has always illuminated at idle, but previously would extinguish with a little rpm.

Bike has a fresh, fully charged battery. I rode about 150 miles over a couple of days with this battery before the charging light problem started.

I've looked over all the wiring in the headlight shell and the vicinity of the battery and have found no loose connections, frayed wiring, etc.

I have little or no experience and competence in motorcycle electrical systems and may end up taking the bike to Bench Mark Works to remedy this and/or all of the problems, but I really need to learn to do more of my own repairs so any help here will be much appreciated!

Can anyone suggest a relatively simple way to diagnose this electrical problem or suggest one or two easily replaceable and relatively inexpensive parts that I might replace to narrow down the possibilities?

(The other two problems were that oil began to blow all over the bike from the cylinder rearward and then late in the day the bike began to jump out of gear randomly and a few times while riding at moderate rpm the clutch seemed to engage, disengage, and slip without any lever input. No more than a cup of oil total was blown out during the day, and I think I've isolated that to a loose push rod cover. The gear and clutch problems occurred during the last ten miles of the ride.)

schrader7032

Here's where having the

Post by schrader7032 »