If you like our site, please consider joining our club!
By joining you will help ensure that we can continue to provide this service
JOIN HERE!

Considering purchasing 82 R65?

schrader7032

Post by schrader7032 »

Seems like a lot to go wrong unless the bike wasn't well cared for or it has many more miles than anyone knows or will admit. Some Airheads will weep oil like that...weeping is tolerable if you're OK with that kind of thing. Someone must have been abused that tranny to have to have that kind of work done so early. I don't know what you mean by "splitting the case". That wouldn't be required if the tranny was worked on. I'd have second thoughts for that kind of dough.

Kurt in S.A.
Kurt in S.A.
'78 R100/7 '69 R69S '52 R25/2
Fast. Neat. Average. Friendly. Good. Good.

khill

Post by khill »

Hi Kurt,

As you can tell I'm a real novice on older BMW's. How does a mechanic
get to the transmission on the older BMW? I think you are going to tell
me that the transmission is separate from the engine. That would be nice
if more work is needed on the transmission. I think the miles are probably incorrect as with many of the older R65's I have looked at.
This one does have some nice BMW type luggage bags which I would use
a lot. I'm not sure what they would cost on ebay or someplace like that.

Thanks

Kirk

Darryl.Richman

Post by Darryl.Richman »

The oil weep isn't uncommon, and so long as it is just a weep, it won't be a mechanical problem. But because this is an older bike, the rubber seals on the pushrod tubes under the cylinders may well be cracking and starting to leak. Repairing this requires removing the cylinders -- a job that is not at all beyond the ken of the home mechanic. If you do that, then you'll have the opportunity to replace the base gasket, and eliminate the weep.