If you like our site, please consider joining our club!
By joining you will help ensure that we can continue to provide this service
JOIN HERE!

Just bought a R/80 at estate auction

Jebones

Just bought a R/80 at estate auction

Post by Jebones »

Newbie here. I just picked up a non-running R80/7, at an online estate auction. It didn’t even list the year. It has a single front disc so from what I have read, it might be a 1977? It sat in a walkout basement on a farm in middle of Ohio. What I know so far: engine rotates when pushed in gear, gas tank is clean, no rust. Front caliper frozen, Windjammer fairing, original tool kit, 3 Samsonite hard bags w/ rack.

I’ll be looking for advice on parts and common issues to be aware of when resurrecting. I’ll go through the fuel and ignition and change all fluids and get it fired up. Then brakes and tires. I’ve got experience with vintage Italian car restoration, but a German bike is completely new to me.
Attachments
90042F0D-D02E-4890-895E-0DF621D84F22.jpeg

SDCR

Re: Just bought a R/80 at estate auction

Post by SDCR »

Looks pretty much complete. Fun project.

I resurrected a R100 in about the same condition last year. Had to evict the mouse family from the top of the air filter.
1983 R100
2000 R1100

schrader7032

Post by schrader7032 »

Welcome to the forum! I believe the bike is later than a 1977, likely a 1979 or 1980...the VIN can be used to determine the build date. The air filter is the later type, not the older clam shell. The carbs are the 94mm style not the 64mm style. I also notice that the snowflake wheels, also later than 1977, are the ones that are on a national recall list. BMW was required to replace the wheels but I believe the number or replacements rims has run out, so getting them replaced are difficult. Info here:

https://bmwmotorcycletech.info/19inchrecall.htm
Kurt in S.A.
'78 R100/7 '69 R69S '52 R25/2
Fast. Neat. Average. Friendly. Good. Good.

srankin

Post by srankin »