If you like our site, please consider joining our club!
By joining you will help ensure that we can continue to provide this service
JOIN HERE!

Low oil pressure - im looking for clues

P-Funk

Low oil pressure - im looking for clues

Post by P-Funk »

Greetings-
I am refurbishing a 1982 R100RS with 40k on it. I am new to BMW, but learning as I go. I have determined that the bike has low oil pressure through the use of 2 different gauges, screwed into the oil pressure switch hole. I generally see ok pressure at idle when cold - 30psi, that increases to 60psi at 2500 and maybe 75psi at 3000rpm. Not exactly spec pressure, which I understand to be more like 110-115psi. When warmed for a few minutes, the pressure at 1k idle drops to 15psi and holds.
Sussing out the situation: no drips or leaks or sight of any oil on or under the engine area, period.
Oil levels are always measured when input into the motor, the proper volume is used and checked when cold and warmed.
Remove valve covers - there's oil present there, even after cleaning it out and performing more psi tests.
Remove/ground spark plugs, hit starter and I see a slow ooze of oil from the rocker arms, both side the same. Not ideal volume, but there is oil getting to there.
Oil filter inspection - I have removed/replaced filters, twice over, with new folding filters and white/black O rings, and shims. The shoulder step depth on the motor is 3.0mm average. I tried using 1, 2 and 3 of the 0.3mm shims, with and without the paper gasket; I'll spare you of the o ring math and say that the pressure readings were the same (low). I inspected the ball valve at the inside wall of the filter's cylinder, it is there, on its spring, and I managed to plunge it a few times with a long wooden tool.