If you like our site, please consider joining our club!
By joining you will help ensure that we can continue to provide this service
JOIN HERE!

Gears grinding when trying to shift up or down

tboooe

Gears grinding when trying to shift up or down

Post by tboooe »

Sorry for all the questions guys...I am just learning about my new to me '67 R69s. So today I took the bike out for its first extended ride. I noticed that when I try to shift I get a lot of gear grinding. I checked and adjusted the clutch cable to minimize free play so that I see the lever at rear of engine start to move pretty much just as I start to pull the clutch lever in. However, I am still getting that awful grinding sound when I shift. Any ideas?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tommy
1967 R69s + a bunch of Ducatis

808Airhead

Re: Gears grinding when trying to shift up or down

Post by 808Airhead »

There is a LONG learning curve for these transmissions. Make sure you have only 5 mm free play at clutch lever, and when shifting gears :
1. Pre load shift lever , this means apply light pressure to lever with foot, not enough to move it but enough to put pressure on it
2. Let off gas and pull in clutch at the same time
3. Count in your head “1-2”
4. Click up shift lever with foot
5. Let out clutch and accelerate.
This will help you smooth out the shifts before you damage your gearbox. I also use Lucas 85-90W gear oil and my bikes snick into gear with no clonks whatsoever. DOWNSHIFTING is a whole other ball game …you have to have the bike at the right speed , right revs, and you have to “stab” it quickly to get it to downshift with no noise. I am getting good at it, but I have almost 30k miles under my belt , it takes PRACTICE! Good luck!
Thomas M.
R69S - R60/2 - R67/2 - R51/3 - R69

mcsherry1328

Post by mcsherry1328 »