If you like our site, please consider joining our club!
By joining you will help ensure that we can continue to provide this service
JOIN HERE!

Throttle tube freeplay

tboooe

Throttle tube freeplay

Post by tboooe »

I recently purchased a 1967 R69s, my long time dream bike and first vintage BMW. I am still learning about these bikes so please forgive me is this is a silly question. On my bike, there is a lot of freeplay in the throttle tube. I can rotate it about 1/2" before I feel the throttle cables engaging. Is this normal for these bikes? I am used to adjusting the freeplay on my Ducatis to be around 1/16 - 1/8".

Also, I found this page explaining how to adjust the freeplay and synch the cables to the carbs. Thoughts?

https://w6rec.com/bmw-motorcycle-contro ... placement/
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tommy
1967 R69s + a bunch of Ducatis

jeffrey

Re: Throttle tube freeplay

Post by jeffrey »

Welcome aboard!

1/2" is way too much play. Photo #15 in your link show the two large gears at the end of both the throttle tube and the cable end (chain). The "relationship" of those two gears determine the amount of slack in the cable.

Take the cover off the throttle housing and look at how those aforementioned gears work together. Basically - what you are trying to do is take slack out of the chain by resetting when the two gears start working together. Lift the gear with the chain attached high enough to turn the throttle tube to a new position where it will engage the chain/cable sooner than it was previously. Hard to explain this, but hopefully it will make sense when you see the two gears working together.

tboooe

Post by tboooe »

Thank you! I will give it try this weekend. I must say the procedure outlined in my first post seems pretty complicated but I am sure I will get the hang of it.