If you like our site, please consider joining our club!
By joining you will help ensure that we can continue to provide this service
JOIN HERE!

Hi There, new member with new (to me ) R50/2 and R60

Thunderdome74

Hi There, new member with new (to me ) R50/2 and R60

Post by Thunderdome74 »

Hi everyone, my name is Thor from South Africa and i have just joined. (if this is the wrong forum please let me know)

Great site this, i have been looking at the posts for a while now, learning alot and thought i might share my progress and hopefully some of you will chime in with various mistakes I'm bound to make

I have been messing around with old bikes for many years now (CBX1000, Cb750, Goldwing 1000etc)
A few years back i chanced upon a R25/3 which i have pretty much completed, sadly she is not on the road as her paperwork is non existent and getting it sorted requires $$$ so i will pursue getting it on the road at a later stage.

So i completed a old gold wing but never really clicked with it(it was nice but i just found myself never riding it),

So i put it up for sale and the guy who bought it sent his mate to look at it (the buyer was upcountry) and as often happens we got to chatting about old bikes, of which he said he had 2 old beemers, a R50/2 and a R60 (as near as i can ascertain via the engine and frame numbers. A deal was struck and i managed to acquire not just one but 2 motorcycles that have been on my bucket list as long as i can remember

I was very chuffed as i managed to basically swop the two for the wing (excluding the resto costs)
So it was time to get em to the shed and start the tear down

As was to be expected the tear-down yielded a few surprises but i managed to get them apart

Somewhere in the R60's long life the PO had decided to chrome ..Everything , so before sending to the painters that all had to come off and become etch primered

And a couple of telltate rust holes that need welding.