If you like our site, please consider joining our club!
By joining you will help ensure that we can continue to provide this service
JOIN HERE!

Thank You Vech & Richard

CWRoady

Thank You Vech & Richard

Post by CWRoady »

Figured this news deserved its own thread. If anyone earned a great retirement I think it is these fine gentlemen. I am a rookie in the Vintage bike world and I owe both of them big time for their patience, generosity of knowledge and parts availability when my local BMW dealership would tell me it would take weeks.

I assume if they were such a great resource for me with my couple of years on bikes older than /5's, there must be an amazing number of you that would sing their praise. Here's just one example: When I purchased my '55, the rear brakes were toast. A quick check showed them covered with dust turned to sludge from a Final Drive leak. As part of my rebuild, I took the Final Drive to my afore mentioned BMW shop for a rebuild. After 3 (or was it 4?) separate attempts to repair the leaking FD the dealership threw their hands in the air, gave me my money back and said "obviously we cant fix it." Richard to the rescue with an over the phone diagnosis that was spot on, admonishment to "do it yourself" and an extremely detailed explanation of how to make the repair, parts list provided and shipped immediately (including the Speedi-Sleeve that solved the problem). Problem solved, frustration of repeated disassembly, duplicated work, brake pad replacements ... FD fixed (other than the non-vented issue, but that is another story :- ).

I am happy for these gentlemen .. selfishly concerned about finding that level of customer support anywhere else on the planet .. but sincerely wishing both of them all the best in their next chapter!
Chris
1955 R50 / 1973 R75/5 / 1974 R90/6 Hack / 2015 RT
Yard Art 1968 +/- Hodaka & SACHS

schrader7032

Re: Thank You Vech & Richard

Post by schrader7032 »