If you like our site, please consider joining our club!
By joining you will help ensure that we can continue to provide this service
JOIN HERE!

1975 R90S color scheme question

The place to discuss the R 90 S as well as the R90S Worldnet archives!
Morten

1975 R90S color scheme question

Post by Morten »

Hi,
Newbie here. I just looked at a 1975 R90S that I'm seriously considering buying. The owner claims that the paint is original, but the color is bright red with yellow pinstripes. I can't find any info that confirms other R90S color schemes than Daytona orange and smoke/grey combo. I know that the '75 90/6 had this color option, but what about the 90S? The paint sure looks original with chips and blemishes that are old. The rest of the bike is original in all ways as far as I can tell. any info out there on this color scheme?
Attachments
photo.jpg
photo.jpg (402.78 KiB) Viewed 2741 times
photo_1.jpg
photo_1.jpg (218.42 KiB) Viewed 2741 times
photo_2.jpg
photo_2.jpg (773.9 KiB) Viewed 2741 times

schrader7032

Never heard of any other

Post by schrader7032 »

Never heard of any other color except the two standard ones. Snowbum only shows those two on his website:

http://bmwmotorcycletech.info/pcodes.htm

Same here:

http://www.bmbikes.co.uk/schemepages/schemer90s.htm

Kurt in S.A.
'78 R100/7 '69 R69S '52 R25/2
Fast. Neat. Average. Friendly. Good. Good.

Morten

Thanks Kurt. Yes, I've been

Post by Morten »

Thanks Kurt. Yes, I've been to those pages, so it seems like a paint job as some point. Why anyone would do such a thing is beyond me. VIN/Serial # checks out as r90s manufactured in September '75, and it sure looks like original paint.

lavernlbrown

R90s paint

Post by lavernlbrown »

May be an r90s but certainly not factory paint or paint scheme, 74, 75, 76 seat rails were chrome the reason for the paint could be a lot of different things. Most often it is price, it is hard to find a painter that will even try to get it "right" Just been through that!